RSS

A Miniature Reflection…

21 Jan

Looking back on the previous semester (and being told to blog again this semester), I’ve come to realize that in theory, everyone blogs.

We really do.

It is just a matter of where or how we blog. This triggered from an intersting (somewhat) discussion that occured between Dr. V, myself, and a couple of other classmates in regards to how I’m a full-fledged soundboard. That is-I’m very open. Last semester, I complained that I didn’t care for blogs, but it dawned on me that I’m actually a decent blogger, I just blog on Facebook rather than here. The Facebook community I find to be a bit more comfortable than WordPress…but don’t tell that to WordPress.

Typically, about once a month, I post what some of my friends have come to call ‘memoirs of Vanessa B’-it’s literally a 5-9 page brain dump (I talk a lot) of the things going on in my life. I’ve also taken being some of my friends’ schadenfreude…the point being, I write on FB a LOT. I like writing in general. The title of my blog is actually derived from my notes on Facebook, which, with each installment I title ‘Recording the Musings of a Madwoman,’ and thus engage my literature.

So…

I’m curious as to why I was so anti-blog before, given that it’s just a home for writing. I’m not sure if it was a stigma, some form of twisted or sick conditioning, or if I just wrote them off from day 1. The only thing I can define for a fact is that-blogs make me feel like I’m ‘required’ to write-not just in regards to class, but in general. “I’m keeping a blog and people follow me, so I suppose I should be writing” is the thought that comes to mind.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “A Miniature Reflection…

  1. Mihaela

    January 23, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    ummm…. can’t answer the question for you, but could it be the public nature of this type of blog that was a bit of a barrier?

     
  2. Andrew Allen

    January 25, 2011 at 6:12 am

    I think it may be more that there’s a difference between writing for yourself and writing for someone else. Strangely, with blogs you can be doing both at the same time. Perhaps before you were feeling like you should be writing for someone else and now you’re writing for yourself?

    Also, it seems to me that writing a blog has an implied responsibility that you hit dead on – once you start a blog, it feels like you should keep blogging, especially once you get some followers who regularly comment.

     

Leave a Reply

 
