RSS

The Dark Side of Social Behaviour, pt. 2

07 Mar

In the previous post of this series (Dark Side, pt. 1)I was touching on some of the interesting people who spend a great deal of their time hanging out on the internet and making most people miserable or agitated in the process. However, in no way, shape, or form, could that or would that be the end of it all. Nuances, part 2.

4. The complain train

You’ve seen them (or know them): that person that, no matter how the product is marketed, what the product is, promotes, or how they can make their lives easier and just *not* acknowledge said product, choose to instead spend there ever lasting moment on a site (or in some cases, just a page) complaining. An example would be as such: a new blog post is published, bashing your favorite flavor of shake. In your world, you say ‘well, that’s just an opinion, and there’s no reason for me to stop drinking said shake’ and you move on. This is normal-logical, even. The complain train takes this as a personal assault to their intelligence and their well-being, and they must take you down, at any cost. Rational thought will not stop them.

MY OPINION IS BETTER THAN YOURS

MY OPINION IS BETTER THAN YOURS

What gets me the most about the complain train is that they actually will sit there and monitor responses that come in attacking them, only to retort back. They are the ultimate in wanting the last word. It’s one thing to engage intellectual banter. Typically the complain train doesn’t admit to being ‘wrong’ or that everyone is entitled to an opinion. It is an absolute: they are right, or you are stupid. Nothing will satisfy them outside of bowing to them and saying ‘You are absolutely correct; what was I thinking?’ These are particularly problematic because when it comes to say, a recent product, it takes them an entire 1-2 days to find everything that is wrong with it (be it large-scale, such as a faulty part or it keeps exploding….or miniscule, such as they misspelled ‘Swiffer’-which, is a made up word ANYWAY.), and there is no convincing them that it has redeeming qualities or that it is worthwhile. This person goes out the way to read their own complaints, and are angered (and thus complain more) when anyone has the audacity to say ‘Wow, that’s not biased at all *insert sarcasm*’. What’s even funnier in my opinion, is when the masses realize that this isn’t worth continuing, and leave. The complain train THEN complains about not getting any feedback (read: people who agree with them).
I HAVE IMPORTANT THINGS TO SAY!

I HAVE IMPORTANT THINGS TO SAY!

You know, given that this is the INTERNET, its true: someone does think that what you’re saying is important. Just….probably for all the wrong reasons. Or as fuel to use against you. Or for the sake of just reminding you that you’re fighting with yourself on THE INTERNET. I just don’t find myself caring enough to invest time in whining about why my old phone was so much more awesome than my new phone. If I liked it that much, why the hell did I get a new phone?! If I don’t like a recent purchase I’ve made, I either a) suck it up and deal. b) take it back. It really is that simple.

Alternatively, no one cares. Keep talking to yourself.
No seriously, if you have the time and dedication to sit on Facebook, and piss and moan about why your favorite character is no longer in a game, then you have time to do something PRODUCTIVE. Shoo! Get off the Internet! We stopped listening after you complained about the button on your favorite shirt popping off for an eighth time-use your brain: stop wearing it! Get a bigger size! Restitch it yourself! Stop sleeping in it then wearing it out! Reasoning = good.

5. Girl/Guy on the Internet Syndrome

Everyone knows these, too: the person whose profile picture is constantly changing by the week, newest outfit, or daily hair dye jobs. The person who feels that the internet just can’t get enough of them, and that their photos are the best photos. They are MySpace models, amateur photographers, and kids…on maximum. They are awesome, and just can’t get over how amazing they are. You should be watching them in awe and splendor, as these are God’s gifts to the world, and always changing; you should try to keep up with them as much as possible!

These, are people suffering from Girl/Guy on the Internet Syndrome.

I’ve never quite understood this phenom, outside of its origins from MySpace with the Tom. Yes, the Tom-the one that when you sign up is by default your very first friend, with that very first super creepy inbox message. I mean don’t get me wrong; the man served as a catalyst to one of the most successful markets there are. MySpace is actually still running with a very strong community, that is constantly expanding. The photo crap, however-he could have kept that at home.

OMG I JUS REALIZED HOW GUD I LEWK GRRL

OMG I JUS REALIZED HOW GUD I LEWK GRRL

The big thing with GotIS is that, even if the person is attractive, there’s that part of you that instinctively gets tired of seeing a new photo from them EVERY SINGLE DAY/WEEK. It makes you start to wonder if they have lives outside of the internet, and if so, when do they engage them? You spend half your time making absurd faces in front of a camera and posting it somewhere with a caps lock caption! I don’t care if you’re the hottest person alive, GotIS is a sure sign of someone who needs a constant stream of attention. They need constant approval, appraisal, and generally speaking, someone to always ride their coat-tail. Usually GotIS patients travel in packs, as you obviously can’t flaunt all of that fabulousness on your own! You need a posse who is just as hot as you are!

Seriously, who has the time and energy to dedicate to this crap? I already hate putting on make-up, heels, and fancy clothes just to go outside. Meetings and conference proceedings are the bane of my existence, as those require effort and planning ahead if I want to look decent. I’m very much a shirt-jeans-shoes type of chick. Getting dressed just to take a bathroom photo? Come on! I barely have the patience to get out of my bed and do the 3 research projects I have this semester-and that’s worthwhile! I want to find all the friends in my Facebook list who have these photos up and running on a regular basis, and just tell them ‘you look like a drunk fish when you pout your lips like that’, or ‘putting your hand down your pants does NOT equal sexy.’ In the defense of Tom, he at least has a touch of class to his-and hell, he’s the original (and at least cute in a nerdy way). Looking at the mass wave that exist on the internet now, it’s like being forced to watch Jersey Shore a la Clockwork Orange torture mechanisms. For my profile picture viewer.

running for Snookie 2011, and proud of it!

running for Snookie 2011, and proud of it!

Now, does this mean I’m against self-take photos? Not at all. I’m just against people thinking that they’re so hot that they have to take one anytime they breathe. “God I’m so hott. I wonder if my hottness has went up in the past second? *snap* Oh yes. *snap* Work it! *snap* GOD I LOVE MYSELF *posts all 50 recent photos on Facebook*”

Go outside! Talk to real people!
AND FOR THE LOVE OF GOD STOP PUTTING ON ALL THIS FOUNDATION, NASTY DYE, AND SPRAY ON TAN (oh yes, that applies to you too, guys)!

-Vanessa B!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “The Dark Side of Social Behaviour, pt. 2

  1. scott abney

    March 7, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    This was awesome on so many levels, the whole time I was both laughing and nodding my head and when I saw the picture of Tom I felt like I was back in 2002 again hanging with an old friend. I find it amusing people who are “myspace models” because there are so many of them and all you can do is snicker and laugh. Great Post!

     
  2. narayun

    March 7, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Hahaha, your opinions never leave me bored. Do agree on the points you made, specially on the complain train. I frequently see a “train” of augments on many social news websites. Though I feel the reason they complain on the internet is because some of them have no one to complain to in real life. It’s a bit sad if you think about that:-(

     
  3. Adam Black

    March 8, 2011 at 1:55 am

    I just wanted to comment that the angry wolf meme (or whatever it’s called) is hilarious… even funnier than the foul bachelor frog.

     
  4. Mihaela

    March 8, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    “you’ve downgraded to a girl”???!!!! Think about it and what it implies, I don’t think you really mean that.

     
  5. Mihaela

    March 8, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Actually, Vanessa, there’s a bit more I would like you to think about… All these behaviors you are writing about are annoying, but harmless. They are in no way, shape, or form any more wrong than trying to straighten out the Internet and to get everyone to conform to social norms that you find appropriate.

    Some of these behaviors make sense in their own contexts, and to the audiences they were intended for. The fact that we do not understand or like them does not make them wrong.

    There is a really dark side to social behavior on the Internet, but this is not it.

    Satire is not an excuse for being judgmental. Satire is one of the main ways we use in society to condemn behaviors we dislike and to teach people social norms. It actually plays an important role in communicating social norms and persuading people to adopt them. So, what I see this post being, is the use of satire to try to educate people about what you find to be acceptable/not acceptable social norms of Internet communication.

     
    • msvanessab

      March 8, 2011 at 2:30 pm

      I don’t want to imply that they are ‘wrong’ in any way, and if that was the message I was conveying I apologize. It really is just a rant that I was continuing. In regards tot he other line, I actually went in and changed it-I didn’t think about it in that fashion.

      although now I’ not sure what I want to rename the posts….I also didn’t want to imply that this was the ‘absolute’ dark side of social behaviour! I know that there are dark sides that are much more serious…such as our discussions on internet security, cyber crime, cyber bullying (well, not a ‘discussion’, but a post from another classmate), etc.

      I apologize if I’ve upsetted you! 😦

       
  6. msvanessab

    March 8, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    also: the opening paragraph was my attempt to preface the entire thing with a blurb stating “theses are just things that annoy me and others from what I can gather”, as opposed to ‘this is what you should do on the internet’.

    I don’t think there could be an ‘Internet for Dummies’ (if that’s what it could be called) book :p

     
  7. Sarah

    March 10, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I’m friends on Facebook with my friend’s little sister who is 15, and she changes her profile picture almost every other day. And I just remembered this post because when I checked my newsfeed a few minutes ago, it showed 4 people she’s now friends with, and 3 of the 4 have bathroom mirror cell phone pictures and they’re males. haha. Oh highschool kids….

     
    • Sarah

      March 10, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      Oops can you delete that?^^ I posted that using the wrong wordpress account.. I was signed in for CGT256… So i’m going to repost with my account. SORRY notifications are probably annoying >_<

       
  8. sarahcoxdesign

    March 10, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I’m friends on Facebook with my friend’s little sister who is 15, and she changes her profile picture almost every other day. And I just remembered this post because when I checked my newsfeed a few minutes ago, it showed 4 people she’s now friends with, and 3 of the 4 have bathroom mirror cell phone pictures and they’re males. haha. Oh highschool kids….

     

Leave a Reply

 
