RSS

Research Joys!

03 Apr

I can only thank the stars that I actually started using Radian 6 when we first got it. I was using it initially to document some standard social media browsing, just to see what news was out there. I switched the topic profile viewer over to my research specifics maybe 2 weeks ago, just to get it up and running.

Much to my surprise (and relief, given that I need to do some serious literature review revisions), the data I’ve been collecting thus far has been pretty nice. I’m noticing, however, that there is the ongoing issue with determining sentiment that we discussed a little in class: everything is coming back as ‘Neutral’. I wonder if there is a way (not at current, obviously) to make sentiment more significant-this would consider implementing some type of system that allows for an algorithm to associate true ‘sentiment’ with words (i.e. not marking ‘cool’ as negative based on its dictionary meaning, but rather on its context/usage). Problem is, that would involve telling individuals to write meaningful information (cool outside vs. being cool, cool vs. ‘kewl’-it’s attack of the English language!). *grumble* So, as I look through the sentiment, I realize that I need more grounds than that. Luckily, I can target specific posts (tweets, blogs, comments) within those sentiment ranges and start weeding information out. However, I clearly can’t do this across *all* sentiment candidates-I’d be here forever. Literally.

I can cross examine some of the data (which is also nice, such as specific comments and blogs on very specific sites), but I can still I have a bit to go in terms of finding exactly what I want.

I have learned, however, that Radian 6 is *not* built for Netbooks. My screen isn’t big enough for any changes/adjustments in widgets. *sigh* Do I seriously have to do all of my research on campus?!

-Vanessa B!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Research Joys!

  1. Mihaela

    April 5, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    There’s no reliable substitute for the human mind when it comes to interpreting sentiment. Content analysis is the name of the game.

     

Leave a Reply

 
