RSS

How I Know My Semester is Ending

05 Apr

11:28pm. The start of the one-month all nighter sessions.

I don’t purposely try to put myself in these positions, but I’ve found that, no matter how far ahead of the game I am, the last month is still by far the crapiest. The end of Fall never feels this bad, but Spring semester, for some reason, just eats me alive. I’m up to date in 2/3 classes, and the last one, I’ve been told I’m still not a lost cause. But at some point, I wound up with 3 research projects, writing 4 literature reviews, grading, helping students learn how to sketch (in CGT no less, that’s a whole different soap box), and forgetting sleep. I’m also the secretary for CGTGC, have a publication pending, and on top of that, have newly acquired IRB revisions as of tonight.

Am I the only one who feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day?

The presentations tonight were all very riveting…some of the things I learned this evening I never knew, such as the true definition of mashups, or how obnoxious cyberbullying has become. In our presentation, I didn’t know that viral video, internet celebrities, and and marketing videos could be classified as memes. The Twitter explosion was by far the best, as it allowed us to listen to and watch a presentation, and discuss it in a real-time format. I sometimes find it difficult, especially in lengthy presentations, to hold on to a question that I had about the history of something for 15 or 20 minutes. Even if I write down brief notes, sometimes I need more info, and when I write down something very specific, I look up and have missed one or two slides, now feeling behind. The Twitter conversations allowed us to ask questions amongst others, and document somewhere what our questions were. If a student or Dr. V knew the answer, then it was taken care of. If not, then we could ask.

Overall, I am looking forward to next week, though I will have to agree some form of organization and stricter time constraints will have to be in play.

-Vanessa B!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “How I Know My Semester is Ending

  1. Mihaela

    April 6, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Thank you for reactions to class and for stepping in to help people organize themselves! Self-organization is a bit harder than it looks on paper.

     

Leave a Reply

 
